Tips on Buying Diamond

Singapore Jewelry

Diamonds are graded by four characteristics: cut, carat (weight), clarity, and color. This is also known as the 4Cs. All four of these properties determine how much a diamond is worth.

Round brilliant diamonds are commonly cut with 58 facets. The better proportioned these facets are on the diamond, the more light will be reflected back to the viewer's eye. This is extremely important as when cut properly, the diamond will sparkle more. Diamond cuts are measured by the table percentage, so always ask for it. A good table percentage is between 55-60%. Cut also refers to the shape such as: round, pear, and oval.
If you are having a diamond mounted, write down the measurements of your stone. Measurements never change. Measure the stone after it is mounted and verify that it matches the appraisal and/or certificate.

Larger diamonds often cost more per carat due to their size. There are 100 points to a carat. Hence a 50 point diamond is 1/2 a carat. (There are 5 carats to a gram.) Always get the actual point size of a diamond rather than a fractional weight. Sometimes jewelers will try to sell a .90 diamond as a 1 carat diamond. A .90 diamond should be substantially less expensive.

Clarity ranges from flawless (perfect) to I (included). Here is a chart:

Flawless: perfect inside and out
Internally Flawless: may have minor blemishes on the outside
VVS1, VVS2: have very very small inclusions. VVS1 inclusions can only be seen through the pavilion. VVS2 inclusions are more visible.
VS1, VS2: have very small inclusions. VS1 inclusions are harder to see than VS2.
SI1, SI2, SI3: have small inclusions
I1, I2, I3: have inclusions visible to the naked eye

Diamond colors generally range from D - X for white and yellow diamonds. D is the whitest. Around S they become "Fancy" yellow Diamonds. One can also find green, pink, red, blue and brown diamonds - though these are usually irradiated.

Source: :